ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

UK male; Russian Girlfriend (both students); Visa Options

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

airdryr
Newly Registered

UK male; Russian Girlfriend (both students); Visa Options

Post by airdryr » Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:34 pm

Hi everyone, thanks for taking the time to read. This post is concerned with the various options available to my girlfriend and I in the event her graduate job search is unsuccessful at the time she finishes her Masters.

Situation:

I am in my final year at University in Edinburgh (4 year course). My Russian girlfriend (Anna) graduated from Edinburgh with a 2:1 last year and is currently enrolled in a 1 year Masters (finishing Sept 2013). We have been going out for 3 years, and we are both 23. She has lived in the UK (away from her family) since the age of 14, when she went to a boarding school and did her GCSEs and A-levels here. She is completely fluent in English. I have a graduate job offer (conditional on getting a 2:1) due to start July 2013 in London. Anna is currently applying for graduate jobs in London, but so far unsuccessfully. If she were successful we would live together in London. Given how competitive the job market is at the moment, coupled with stricter caps on immigration for non-EU citizens, we are concerned about the possibility no job offers are forthcoming. I have lived with her for around 14 months, but this will have passed the 2 year mark by the time we have finished at University. I get my bank statements sent to