ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

going from youth mobiiity to unmarried partner (of 4 years)

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

muffinman
Mood:
Australia

going from youth mobiiity to unmarried partner (of 4 years)

Post by muffinman » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:26 pm

Hi,
I have a couple of questions about applying for UK visa. I'm an Australian resident and have been living with my British girlfriend for four years in various countries around the world (we work in international development). We did a year in the UK (2010/11) and during that time I worked on a Youth Mobility Scheme visa which is due to expire next month. I set up a limited UK company and did contract work. I have a UK bank account with >£10k in it now.

Now that my visa is expiring I want to apply for an unmarried partner visa but have a couple possible problems. We don't actually live in the UK at the moment, we both live together in Africa. However, I'd still like to get the visa as soon as possible as I have ongoing contracts in the UK that I will need to go back to complete.

Can I get an unmarried partner visa even though we aren't actually living there right now?

Will it be a great disadvantage to apply after my current visa has expired?

Do you think there is a better option? like maybe Tier 1 Entrepreneur?

Thanks for the help!

Lucapooka
Respected Guru

Post by Lucapooka » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:28 pm