ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Question about a switch from Student visa to tier 2 general

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

mgmtgraduk
Newly Registered

Question about a switch from Student visa to tier 2 general

Post by mgmtgraduk » Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:56 pm

Hi,

I am in talks with a perspective employer and I have a few questions at the moment about switching from student visa to tier-2, as PSW is cancelled:

1. My degree is just completed and marks are yet not out. I tried to get a degree completion certificate from school, but as obvious, I got a provisional certificate, which is not accepted by UKBA.
How can I apply before I get a degree certificate? My visa gets expired mid-Feb 2013, and a degree letter might get after the 1st Feb 2013, so I have a very little time.

2. Assuming I get the degree certificate and I apply, how many days likely it takes until i get visa stamped? Also, during that period, what is my visa status? Can I work for that employer?

Thank you.

manci
Respected Guru

Post by manci » Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:01 am

1. you can post the application any time up to and including the date of expiry of your visa, so if the degree cert. will be available on 1 Feb there shouldn't be a problem.

2. while the application is being processed your present Tier 4 visa status continues, i.e. you can only work the hours permitted for students.

Look at the timelines posted on the forum to get some idea how long postal applications take to process. The alternative would be the premium service (costs more and not easy to book).

mgmtgraduk
Newly Registered