ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Senior people of this forum, please Help!!!!!

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

knapps
Member of Standing

Senior people of this forum, please Help!!!!!

Post by knapps » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:11 am

I have recently become an Irish citizen after 5 years of naturalization. I have been working full time for 7 years in Ireland. I also own a business in a partnership and have a limited company (but small).

My brother is on a student visa in Ireland since 2009.

My question is; is there any prevalent law that on my behalf my brother can apply for residency or any other type of visa?

I appreciate your assistance.

Thanks

dalebutt

Post by dalebutt » Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:14 pm

The simple and definite answer would be No

Monifé

Post by Monifé » Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:32 pm

Your Irish citizenship does not confer any rights to siblings or ascendants.

However, if you have an EU spouse and are entitled to the citizenship of his/her country, then you could make an application under EU treaty rights, although there are a number of rules attached to sibling applications and you would need sufficient documentary evidence.
beloved is the enemy of freedom, and deserves to be met head-on and stamped out - Pierre Berton

Brigid from Ireland
Member of Standing

Post by Brigid from Ireland » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:41 pm

You have a business. Can you offer your brother the type of job that will allow him to qualify for citizenship in his own right?