ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA to UK citizen - but with recent 5 years of non-work!

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

madamvonmarge
Newly Registered

EEA to UK citizen - but with recent 5 years of non-work!

Post by madamvonmarge » Fri May 31, 2013 9:41 am

Apologies first if this is covered somewhere but my situation may be a little unusual.

I am from an EEA country and have been living in the UK since 1992 with no gaps.

I was a student for 3 years <had alien registration etc> and then, since rules changed, was allowed to remain with no immigration restrictions.

After working both as an employee and as a self-employed person for over 10 years, I applied for ILR and received a stamp and a card in 2005. The card has now expired <!>

Before I could apply for citizenship/naturalisation as I had intended to, I became very ill, homeless and was hospitalised. On the advice of those around me, therefore, I made recourse to public funds !!

I have therefore been, for 5 years, in receipt of housing and council tax benefit plus incapacity benefit <now ESA-CB-WRAG> and DLA.

Due to this, I have not as yet applied for naturalisation/citizenship as I am concerned that this invalidates my EEA treaty rights? Also, if I was hospitalised/on medication for depression, does it suggest I'm not of sound mind?

Should I work for 5 years before applying?

:cry:

Amber
Mood:

Re: EEA to UK citizen - but with recent 5 years of non-work!

Post by Amber » Fri May 31, 2013 9:46 am