ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA but did not apply for ILR & Referees

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ccarmell
Newly Registered

EEA but did not apply for ILR & Referees

Post by ccarmell » Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:57 am

I have been studying in the UK from late September, 2007. Have been away for around 6-7months for work placements during 2009 but that can be counted as part of the course I studied.

I am planning to apply for neutralisation but have not officially applied for any permanent residency status/ILR, will that be a concern? I was doing full time studying from Sept 2007 - Sept 2013..

If the professional referee that is not a British national & does not live in the UK, will that be a problem? I find it difficult to find referees in the UK, esp. moving house almost every year/ friends of mine are not quite qualified as professionals / lucky enough to never have had the need to visit a GP, etc. ..
Any recommendations on that?

thanks a lot!

Ayyubi72
- thin ice -

Post by Ayyubi72 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:44 am

Not having permanent residence confirmation will itself not be a problem.

You will surely know some teachers, lecturers, professors. They can act as referees.

Did you hold comprehensive sickness insurance during your studies?

Tuvoc

Post by Tuvoc » Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:02 pm

My lawyer told me this:

"The referee must be resident in the UK and professional in the UK and not outside the UK"

In the end I managed to in fact get two referees whow were both professional, and both UK resident.

Ayyubi72