ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 2 General to Student visa for Masters

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Lama115
Newly Registered
India

Tier 2 General to Student visa for Masters

Post by Lama115 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 6:46 pm

Hi,

I am an Indian national working in the UK on a tier 2 general visa.

I studied my four year bachelors degree in the UK after which I secured a Tier 2 general visa from my current employer. This December end I will be eligible for my ILR and as of now I meet the requirements (salary and 5 years work experience etc).

I am trying to switch industry and hence it is important for me to do a masters masters degree starting in September 2018. I have applied for the course which is at a reputed university and very likely I will receive the offer soon.

From reading at link [ uk-tier-2-employer-sponsored-visas/ ]and GOV UK website I think it's definitely possible to apply from Tier 2 general to student visa without leaving the UK but below are my concerns:

1. If I accept my masters offer I will miss out on applying ILR in december 2018 as I no longer will be working with my employer who sponsored my Tier 2 visa. But I will complete ten years in September 2019. Is it safe to say that after graduation I don't need to wait for any employer to sponsor me a tier 2 general, again, and just apply for ILR on my own because I will be completing ten years in the UK by the time I complete my masters?