ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Spousal Visa Overstayers

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Baggabliss
Newly Registered
Jamaica

Spousal Visa Overstayers

Post by Baggabliss » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:33 pm

I arrived in the UK in September 1999 as a student, I began studying, after 1 year, my solicitor messed up my visa application by not doing his job, (he was struck off by the Law Society due to negligence in many other cases), as a result, I became an overstayer, I did not return home after becoming aware of my status, I stayed due to reasons I won’t express here.
I submitted an application on the grounds of compassionate leave to remain in June 2016; it was rejected in March 2017. I met a girl mid 2017, she is a UK national, we fell in love and are now engaged to be married, I submitted a second application on the grounds I have a spouse, that too was rejected in April 2018 on the grounds we haven’t been cohabiting for over two years. Two months ago, I requested a copy of my passport from the Home Office to register our impending marriage (3 times in two months), they have yet to dignify my request with a response, I spoke to my solicitor last week Monday and he advised me to return to Jamaica, get married then apply for a spousal visa.