ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

American girlfriend to join French citizen in the UK

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Floran671
Newly Registered

American girlfriend to join French citizen in the UK

Post by Floran671 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:04 pm

Hello all,

My name is Florian. I am 24 years old French citizen and have been employed in the UK by a UK company for 1.5 year (i.e.: exercising my Treaty rights).

My girlfriend is American. We got to know each other in June 2012 when I was going through my first year of college (I graduated in late 2016) and have been visiting each other at least once a year since 2014. The rest of the time we're keeping in touch with each other through phone, messaging apps, letters, etc.

I am currently visiting her and we both agree on one thing: we love each other dearly and want to close the distance between us. We also agreed that it'd be best for her to come and live with me in the UK. Below are the steps we'd like to take to achieve this:

1. She applies from the US for a marriage visa.
2. She joins me in the UK and we get married here.
3. She return to the US and applies for a EEA family permit (as my spouse) from outside the UK.

From the information I gathered, the second step above would allow us to have a recognized marriage. Then the third step would allow us to close the distance for good.