ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

HSMP Extension

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

krssubbu

HSMP Extension

Post by krssubbu » Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:31 am

Hello Guyz,

I need your help here.

I am on the HSMP scheme and my visa extension is due in Jan 2009.

I work as a contractor and get paid hourly. As a contractor i am going though an umbrella company thus making me an employee of that company. They do my billing for me. Contractors have to pay Employers NI and umbrella company charges which are not taxable.

My question is, my Invoice value is £1600 per month (Total hours worked X hourly rate)

My Gross Value is £1300 (after deducting Employers NI and Umbrella Company charges - Not taxable). So i am actually paying tax on £1300.

I had mailed HSMP team many times but they seem to copy and paste what is there on the guidance, which really is not clear for contractors.

Could you please help me out here?

Thanks

Subbu

republique
BANNED

Re: HSMP Extension

Post by republique » Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:24 am

krssubbu wrote:Hello Guyz,

I need your help here.

I am on the HSMP scheme and my visa extension is due in Jan 2009.

I work as a contractor and get paid hourly. As a contractor i am going though an umbrella company thus making me an employee of that company. They do my billing for me. Contractors have to pay Employers NI and umbrella company charges which are not taxable.

My question is, my Invoice value is £1600 per month (Total hours worked X hourly rate)