ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Baby born in the UK or Thailand?

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

TeacherLuke
Newly Registered
Mood:

Baby born in the UK or Thailand?

Post by TeacherLuke » Tue May 07, 2019 11:04 pm

Hi guys/girls

I've a complicated situation whereby me and my wife discovered we are having a baby in January 2020. I would like to know wether it impacts on us living in the UK if the child is born in the UK or Thailand?

Secondly, our long term future will be in the UK. I am currently a primary school teacher who meets the salary criteria and my wife has a first class degree in teaching English. If the baby is born in Thailand (where my wife has family etc around her) how long would it take to move to the UK and is it the family visa that would be needed? My wife has visited many times on a tourist visa but fear that the family visa may be a little more challenging.

Thank you for any help.

Luke and Bim

zimba
Mood:

Re: Baby born in the UK or Thailand?

Post by zimba » Tue May 07, 2019 11:30 pm

If you are a British citizen, then you child will be British at birth regardless of where the baby is born and can get British passport.