ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Student Visa bringing spouse and kids

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Apple1234
Newly Registered
United States of America

Student Visa bringing spouse and kids

Post by Apple1234 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:48 pm

I’m an American student who’s interested in studying medicine in Ireland. I will be able to obtain a student visa to study for the 5 years i am there. I’m inquiring about what I need to do to allow my spouse and children to join me during this time. I see that a 90 day tourist visa is available. Is there a way to extend this for the duration of the study?

joker
Ireland

Re: Student Visa bringing spouse and kids

Post by joker » Sat Dec 14, 2019 6:59 am

Very tough without money and what about Dublin's high rent?

atc
Newly Registered

Post by atc » Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:14 am

joker wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 6:59 am
The original poster is asking whether it's legally possible and what visa their family would need. Whether they can afford it financially is a question for the poster to determine themself.

To answer the question "No. In general students will continue to have no rights to Family Reunification. There are some exceptions to the rule which can be found on page 14 of the Guidelines for Degree Programme Students."

Further info can be found on inis website...

http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Pages/Fr ... udents#Q18

Apple1234
Newly Registered
United States of America

Post by Apple1234 » Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:04 pm

joker wrote:
The school is in Galway and I’ll have enough to support my family and myself.

Apple1234