ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Apply in the UK itself?

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

oilman
Newly Registered

Apply in the UK itself?

Post by oilman » Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:54 am

Hi all,

Bear with me please, just 3 questions:

I currently work in the oilfield and as such, I have to travel around quite often in the Middle East and will need my passport often. The longest I can stay in any one place is about 1 month. Also my country, Malaysia (non-EU) has an agreement with the UK, which allows me to enter the UK without a visa for 6 months, but not for work.

:arrow: So, q1:

Can I apply for the Tier 1 (General) visa in the UK itself, with all my documents?

I read the website & it says I can only apply in the UK with "permission to stay". Some background: i satisfy the minimum points in all the categories, studied in the UK for my degree (4 year MEng).

:arrow: q2:

If I cannot apply in UK, due to my nature of work, I travel around the Middle East, so I only get to be back in my home country for like 1 month in a year.

So, do I apply in Malaysia or in the Middle East country I work?

:arrow: q3:

I have an international bank account, based in New York, where my pay's wired to and all my statements are electronic form. I can request for paper statements, but they'll take more than 7 days to reach my mailing address.

Will these be not be valid for the application then? What should I do? Fly to New York and get a paper print?

Thanks in advance for all your replies.

oilman
Newly Registered

Post by oilman » Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:08 am