ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

British Passport- Issue with referee

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Nicky_
Newly Registered
Greece

British Passport- Issue with referee

Post by Nicky_ » Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:45 pm

I sent my application for my first British passport and as a referee I put a person that has a UK passport, know me more than 2 years, lives in the UK and is over 18 years old.

They rejected that person, but they didn't tell me why on their email. I call them and they said do they meet the criteria and I said yes. They asked me what job they do and I said they work in customer service for a company. They said it's not one of the recognised professions.

So, does the referee has to have a role in one of the profession they describe on their website?

I'm struggling to find a manager etc who I would feel confident to ask to be the referee for my application because I'm new to my current job and the previous jobs I had I didn't develop a good relationship with managers. Plus I don't know if they have a UK passport. I feel awkward asking them out of the blue and after so many years of not talking to them.

Has anyone used a referee that had just a simple office based job in a company?

secret.simon

Re: British Passport- Issue with referee

Post by secret.simon » Tue Jun 28, 2022 10:29 pm

As it happens, I supported a passport application as a referee myself today. And the application specifically asks the referee to state which category they fall under, from the list on the Gov.UK website.