ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Engaged to non-national currently seeking asylum... Help plz

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Monifé

Engaged to non-national currently seeking asylum... Help plz

Post by Monifé » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:53 pm

Hey guys, I am completely new to this. Just wondering can anyone help me or give me any information about what to do in my situation.

I am (an Irish Born Citizen) engaged to a non-national who is currently seeking asylum. We are getting married in 3 or 4 months and I am just wondering has anyone else been in this situation? What happens after we are married, like how to we make his status legal in Ireland?

And if his application for asylum is refused, what do we do then to allow him to stay with me legally?

One other question I have been trying to get the answer to but can't. I have heard of voluntary return (for when the Minister intends to make a deportation order, but hasn't yet, if your application for asylum is refused) and was wondering if it did come to that (I really hope it doesn't), if he chooses voluntary return, what is the time limit in which he can return and are there any implications??

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have :)

El shaddai
Member of Standing

Post by El shaddai » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:28 pm

if he gets married to you,he s subjected to the Eu Directives. As long as it s not a marriage of convenience. Then he can apply for EU treaty right and get stamp 4 for six months pending the decision of his application.

dublin3
- thin ice -

Post by dublin3 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:27 pm