ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Education outside the UK after ILR

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

MayILR
Newly Registered

Education outside the UK after ILR

Post by MayILR » Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:27 am

Hi,

I just got my ILR (I have been working in the UK since June 2006). This September I am planning to go to out of the UK for 10-month educational program. I plan to return back to work in the UK after this program.

Could someone please help answering the following:

- During the program, I will visit the UK for job interviews: Will I need a visitors' visa? or will an ILR be enough? Because, I am not sure if a visit for an interview is counted as "you are returning to live here permanently" (you haven't got the job yet!) as mentioned in the returning residents requirement. BTW, my Tier 1 was to expire in Dec 2012 - and I could have returned to the UK for interviews on that - but ILR returning resident seeks the "permanent" requirement. I know, it would sound bizarre that one could enter on Tier-1 and not on ILR. But just a doubt.

- When I return back to the UK to resume my career, do I have to wait for another 5 years or 12 months to apply for the British Citizenship? Asking this because the Residential Requirement mentions the applicant must have "been present in the UK five years before the date of your application".

Many thank in advance for your inputs.

nax_72

Post by nax_72 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 9:42 am