ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

13 years lawful residency and no right for BC!

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ElenaDi
Newly Registered

13 years lawful residency and no right for BC!

Post by ElenaDi » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:55 pm

I have been a resident in the UK since January'99 and I am a citizen of Bulgaria.

I have resided in the country for 13 years, the first 4 ½ as a student, following 3 ½ as a work permit and HSMP holder (3 work permits 1 HSMP permit) and the last 5 as an EEA Citizen exercising Treaty rights.

My partner's nationality is Indian and since 27 March 2007 he has had the status of a family member of an EEA National who is exercising Treaty rights in the UK.

Because of Bulgaria ascending to the EU and EEA on 1st January 2007 I had to register as an EEA Citizen exercising Treaty rights which (according to the UK Border Agency) means they start counting the qualifying period from scratch and aren't considering the 3 1/2 years I have been on a work permit status.
I would like to understand whether I am eligible to apply for naturalisation as a UK citizen at present.

Thanks for the help in advance!
Elena

Jambo
Respected Guru

Post by Jambo » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:23 pm

First, you did not have had to register as EEA national in 2007. You could have continued on the (although costly) Work Permit / HSMP visa route and apply for ILR using that path.

Second, have a look here.

damidamz
Newly Registered

Post by damidamz » Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:35 pm