ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

STAGE 2 Application

Only for the Global Talent visa, formerly known as Tier 1 (Exceptional Talent) visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Fcomber
Newly Registered

STAGE 2 Application

Post by Fcomber » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:57 am

Hi all

I am applying for stage 2 after receiving my endorsement from the British Academy.
I don't have a job offer yet, I am a researcher and I am currently applying for a postdoctoral research grant but the results are expected end-May (and I am applying end-February max). If I am not successful in that bid, I will, of course, look for other options but only after I have arrived in the UK. I will be teaching in the University where I studied for my PhD, but it's a zero-hour (paid by the hour) contract that can only be signed AFTER I have the visa.

So, basically, I am struggling to select an option in my application as I can't select the option that says I am going to the UK to work because they request details of employment, contract, etc.

Should I select "temporary residency"? If yes, what should I write in the box?

The option "to settle" is only when we are applying for settling in the UK after the 3 or 5 years in this visa?

I am confused. If anyone can help I'll be very grateful.

Gcoast
Newly Registered
Ghana

Re: STAGE 2 Application

Post by Gcoast » Sun Jan 26, 2020 8:03 am

If you’re planning to settle in the UK, then I think the option you’ll choose is settle.

The next question would be where you’ll stay and how you’ll maintain yourself when you arrive until when you have a source of income. So prepare to have answers to those questions.