ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Extending Tier 2 vs Applying for the new BNO visa

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

lilysash
Newly Registered

Extending Tier 2 vs Applying for the new BNO visa

Post by lilysash » Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:54 am

Hello,

I'm originally from Hong Kong and have a BNO passport. I've been working in the UK on a Tier 2 visa since late 2017. My goal is to get an indefinite leave to remain once I become eligible (late 2022).

My current Tier 2 visa is expiring in a few months' time so I'll have to apply for an extension (which will see me through to 2023 and is supported by my employer), but since I am also eligible for the new BNO visa, I am considering my options. I was wondering if you could answer a couple questions that I have regarding my situation?

1. Will the 3+ years I have already spent in the UK on the Tier 2 visa definitely count towards the 5 years for ILR if I switched to the BNO visa? The GOV.UK page (https://www.gov.uk/british-national-overseas-bno-visa) says that it *may*, but I rang the UKVI to clarify and they said the 5 years would need to start again if I switched?

2. If I do apply for the BNO visa and my existing Tier 2 visa expires when I am still waiting for a decision on the BNO one, will I have to stop working and being paid?

I'd really appreciate your thoughts on this!

Cheers,
Lily

manci
Respected Guru

Re: Extending Tier 2 vs Applying for the new BNO visa

Post by manci » Thu Feb 04, 2021 5:31 pm

lilysash wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:54 am