ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

General Tier 2 change of employment and language requirement

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

alyeltrem
Newly Registered

Extremely Urgent General Tier 2 question

Post by alyeltrem » Mon Jan 27, 2020 12:51 am

Hello, I have a very urgent question regarding my General Tier 2 visa.

I am from Turkey and I was employed by a university in the UK from 17.01.2017 until 17.01.2020 for 3 years. The last day that I can stay in the UK on my BRP card is 03.02.2020. And at the moment I am a resident in the UK. I was employed as a Marie-Curie Early Stage Researcher.

Now I have received a contract offer from the University and they will provide me the certificate of sponsorship on Tuesday as a post doctoral researcher. I checked if I should apply for a new Tier 2 visa or an extension of my current Tier 2 leave to remain and have seen that the extension is the only way. Because if you want to make a new Tier 2 General visa application - it asks if you are in the UK and immediately says that you cannot apply for a Tier 2 General within UK. That made me think extension should be the only option for me.

However, the eligibility criteria for extending a Tier 2 General is given as the following in the gov.uk website:

You must have current permission to enter or stay on a Tier 2 (General) visa.

You must also meet the following conditions:

you have the same job as when you were issued your previous permission to enter or stay in the UK
you’re still working for the employer who assigned your certificate of sponsorship