ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 4 visa working hour question - urgent please help

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ireallydontknow
Newly Registered
Korea South

Tier 4 visa working hour question - urgent please help

Post by ireallydontknow » Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:28 pm

Hi there,

I'm an international student on tier 4 visa. My term ends today and holiday starts tomorrow.

I know that the working hour cap for term time is 20 hrs per week, and I can work full-time during my holidays. I've worked 16 hrs this week so far. And now I plan to work another 7 hrs tomorrow, which is the first day of my holiday.

I've asked advices from both my university student advice team and my employer.

My uni advise team didn't give me any definite answers. According to them, it can be said that I'm within my right by doing so because I didn't work over 20 hrs during my term time, and I'm entitled to work as much as I want during my holiday. But at the same time, it can also be said that a working week is calculated as from Monday to Sunday, and the majority part of this week is still my term time... and the government will have issues of me working 23 hrs altogether within this working week. In the end, they just said that if I really want to work, I "will have a strong argument but not 100% out of trouble".

My employer goes with the first argument the uni gave me, and is confident that I won't be in any trouble.