ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Direct Consular Filing in London for non-UK citizen

USA immigration, green card questions:
Employment based Green Cards | H-1B visas | Family based Visas | Citizenship

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

dirty_valera
Newly Registered

Direct Consular Filing in London for non-UK citizen

Post by dirty_valera » Tue May 03, 2016 11:00 pm

Hi everyone!

My question contains both US and UK immigration related topics. Me (Russian citizen) and my girlfriend (US citizen) met a year ago when I was in US on J1. We've been seeing each other for almost a year now (I'm currently studying in Canada, so she can come visit me almost every weekend) and recently decided to get married. I recently received a job offer from a major US based company with offices all over the world, however my H1B application was not selected, so I will be working in London office on a work visa. Me and my gf want to be in US as soon as possible. The plan we have so far is to try to file for Direct Consular Filing (DCF) in London, however I have a number of questions:
1) Time and place of the marriage: when I start working, I'll have a B1 visa for work-related trips. Would it be better to get married in US, while I'm on B1 (I will have kind of 2-months training in US before starting full time in London) or wait until I go to London, fly here there (what kind of visa would she need, tourist visa etc.?) and get married in UK (is it hard/possible)?