ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

British Naturalisation...Calculating the 5yrs???

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Alias
Newly Registered

British Naturalisation...Calculating the 5yrs???

Post by Alias » Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:35 pm

Hello everyone - i'm a Newbie and i hope some of you folks will be able to answer my query. I'm helping a friend do his British Citizenship [Naturalisation] application. Please help me work out if he's completed his 5yrs legal UK Residence yet as the Home Office seem very fussy about this in the guidance notes which accompany the form.

-he first arrived in UK on 01/11/2001
-the HO had received his political Asylum application by 06/11/2001
-he was granted full Refugee status and ILR [indefinite leave to remain] on 21/01/2002

Now my confusion is on whether we calculate the 5yrs of the required continuous LEGAL Residence from the date he became an acknowledged Asylum-seeker [06/11/2001] OR the date he was actually granted his ILR as a Refugee [21/01/2002]???

Your advice/info will be gratefully appreciated, especially from all who've gone through a similar process - please bear with me if my question seems silly or obvious...i'm only writing the application on my friend's behalf!! Cheers.

[/u][/i]

John

Post by John » Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:58 pm

-he first arrived in UK on 01/11/2001
-the HO had received his political Asylum application by 06/11/2001