ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

uk dependent visa question

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

dodgefandom
Newly Registered
Pakistan

uk dependent visa question

Post by dodgefandom » Mon Nov 21, 2022 9:24 am

hi,

my spouse has applied for a study visa to the UK. i am planning on applying as a dependant. now the thing is, I was a student back in 2010 and had overstayed my visa by 4 months. left voluntarily and at my own cost. no stamp of any sort on my passport.

do I need to be bothered that my dependant visa application can be refused? what is the best approach here. please guide

vinny

Re: uk dependent visa question

Post by vinny » Mon Nov 21, 2022 10:16 am

Suitability requirements for a dependent partner or dependent child of a Student
ST 29.1. The suitability requirements for a partner or child on the Student route are that they must not fall for refusal under Part 9: grounds for refusal.

ST 29.2. A person applying for permission to stay must not be:
  • (a) in the UK in breach of immigration laws, except that where paragraph 39E applies, that period of overstaying will be disregarded; or
  • (b) on immigration bail.
If necessary, then declare the previous overstay. Should be okay under 9.8.7.
This is not intended to be legal or professional advice in any jurisdiction. Please click on any given links for further information. Refer to the source of any quotes.
We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.

dodgefandom
Newly Registered
Pakistan

Post by dodgefandom » Mon Nov 21, 2022 12:12 pm

when you say "if necessary"