ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Please advice on taking this type of job as a student

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

paribus
United Kingdom

Please advice on taking this type of job as a student

Post by paribus » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:34 am

I am a non-EEC student doing a master's degree in an IT course. I started my program in october 2007 and I've just finished my first term exams.

Since I started my studies i've never done any sort of work while here and I'll say mostly due to the fact that my job searches were restricted to part time IT jobs (where I have much experience) but I've had no luck up until now. I had actual almost given up on getting a part time IT related job until as luck would have it I applied for this part time IT support job working 2 days a week and i was offered the job.

The work involves providing 1st to 3rd level IT support in a large organisaton (and the 2 days a work was because it's a job share with an existing worker who required some work day flexibiliity from the organisation) and would be paying between 11k to 12k pa. I think the full time position was paying something like 28k pa and the 2 days per week had been pro rated to the 11-12k pa range.

The company would be offering this work a fixed term 7-month contract basis that would be renewable.

My concerns are this: