ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA4 refusal-CAN I APPEAL?

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

SeaJohn
Newly Registered

EEA4 refusal-CAN I APPEAL?

Post by SeaJohn » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:34 pm

Hi there.

I have just got a refusal for EEA4.

The story is as follows. I'm non-EU national, my wife is EU national. My wife has been a student since 2005 and received a studentship for 3 years till 2008. In 2008 we had a son. She remained a part-time student till present. I have been working permanently since 2007 and we lived on my wages.

The reason for refusal letter states:

You have applied for a Permanent Residence on the basis that your EEA national sponsor has been exercising your Treaty rights as a student since October 2005. ... She has not however submitted any evidence which shows how she financially supported herself from October 2008 to date.Therefore, it has been decided to refuse to issue the conformation you seek with reference to Regulation 15(1)(b) of the Immigration (EEA) Regulations 2006.

Do we have grounds to appeal? Any other suggestions?
Can I continue to work if we appeal?

Thanks

Lucapooka
Respected Guru

Post by Lucapooka » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:38 pm

If she was studying or self-sufficient being reliant on your wages, there would be a requirement for both of you to have held comprehensive sickness insurance during that period.

SeaJohn
Newly Registered

Post by SeaJohn » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:44 pm

Thanks for the answer.