ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Irish Student Obtaining British Citizenship: CSI

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ImRonBurgundy
Newly Registered
Ireland

Irish Student Obtaining British Citizenship: CSI

Post by ImRonBurgundy » Sun Sep 19, 2021 8:17 pm

Hello,

I'm an Irish Citizen, living in the UK for 6 years. I'm planning to apply for British Citizenship.

For the first 5 years I was in the UK I was employed. For the last year, I've been an unemployed student doing a master's degree in England. Right before I started studying I came across some information stating EU students needed Comprehensive Sickness Insurance (CSI) while studying in the UK.

Irish benefit from several privileges that other EU citizens don't receive because of the CTA, such as not needing to apply for the EU settlement scheme (CTA info) (Also includes things like voting and several other rights such as secured use of the NHS - as I understand it). So I wasn't sure I needed CSI. I contacted Citizen's Advice to find more info, to which they said I did not need CSI as an Irish student. So, I've gone the last year as a student without it.

Now, looking at applying for citizenship, before submitting the application fee (£1,330), I'm wanting to make sure this is indeed correct. Google doesn't cover this specific question well.