ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

UK Citizen exercising EU Treaty rights in Ireland - No Deal Brexit

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Latintraveller

UK Citizen exercising EU Treaty rights in Ireland - No Deal Brexit

Post by Latintraveller » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:25 am

My family and I have lived in Ireland for nearly six years. After a period of ad-hoc work I have been working as a Civil Servant for 20 months in a permanent position.

I notice as part of the no-deal Brexit there is provision for permanent residence in an EU country if resident for five years or more. This is based on Directive 2003/109/EC. Having considered this Directive it appears that Ireland was not a party to it at the time of its adoption and not subsequently.
We have a three-year-old Irish child so my wife would be covered to live in Ireland under the Zambrano ruling. I am covered under the CTA since I am British. My wife is mother to my 15-year-old step-son who lives with us.

I have been reading this document regarding Reunification in Ireland. There are provisions for Irish Citizens, EU and non-EU. Would I be categorised as Irish in the sense that the 1935 Alien's act doesn’t apply to me by virtue of being British? If I was categorised as non-EU then we may have to purchase sickness insurance and my pay (after tax) is slightly below the FIS threshold for two children which disallows family reunification (or keeping the family united in this case).
http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Family%2 ... cument.pdf