ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Irish Citizen, Chinese wife - UK Visa

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Derohan
Newly Registered
Ireland

Irish Citizen, Chinese wife - UK Visa

Post by Derohan » Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:36 am

I'm an Irish citizen who grew up from the age of 3 in the UK. I've been working in China for 3 years but still have an address and bank account there. I haven't applied for UK citizenship yet, but plan to when I return.
I'm married to a Chinese national and we're expecting a child in 6 months. We have significant savings and a plan to move back to the UK to start a business within the next 3 months.

Firstly, what is the visa process for my wife as a Chinese national married to an EU citizen to live/work in the UK?
Secondly, does my being in China for 3 years affect my application for UK citizenship?

Richard W
- thin ice -

Re: Irish Citizen, Chinese wife - UK Visa

Post by Richard W » Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:24 pm

Derohan wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:36 am
Firstly, what is the visa process for my wife as a Chinese national married to an EU citizen to live/work in the UK?
She applies for a 'family permit' to travel with you. The variant under the EEA regulations will be slightly easier; she won't need to satisfy the ECO that she is not an EEA national.
Derohan wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:36 am
Secondly, does my being in China for 3 years affect my application for UK citizenship?