ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

need some help please

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

XSHADOWX
Newly Registered

need some help please

Post by XSHADOWX » Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:50 am

I'm am non EU living in London since September 2004 I married a french women in September 2006 and I received my 5 year residence stamp on my passport until September 2011.

I've been working full time as a Manager in a hotel since 2005. unfortunately my wife and i split up a year ago due to my crazy working hours and she is filling for a divorce in wandsworth court the divorce is not yet pronounced. my question is if we get divorced do i have to leave the country or can i stay until September 2011, or am I entitle to apply for settlement or permanent residence in the United Kingdom.

I heard that after 3 years i can apply by my self is it true?

please let me your advice in this matter as I've been searching on the home office website for some answers and its very confusing.

thank you in advance.

Obie
Ireland

Post by Obie » Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:17 am

You are considered a Family member until the Decree Absolute of you divorce is passed. Once it is passed, you will need to apply for retention of your residency, provided you meet the condition, which is, you wife would need to provide you evidence to supply the HO that up until the time the final divorce is passed, she was exercising treaty rights in the UK.