ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Switch from a Tier 2 to a Tier 5 (Government Sponsored) Visa

Only for UK Tier 5 (Temporary work) points system
Also includes the Youth Mobility Scheme Tier 5

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

VPmelbourne
Newly Registered
Australia

Switch from a Tier 2 to a Tier 5 (Government Sponsored) Visa

Post by VPmelbourne » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:56 am

Hi everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice on my situation. I’m a post-graduate doctor from Australia pursuing further sub specialty training in the UK. I currently have a tier 2 visa by my UK sponsor for the duration of 6 months. Following this I have to change to another employer who has told me they can’t offer me Tier 2 sponsorship but they will support an application for a Tier 5 sponsorship through the Medical Training Initiative.

My question is, do I need to go back to Australia to apply for a switch to Tier 5 from my current Tier 2 visa? If I do, am I eligible to apply for a Tier 5 in the Tier 2 cooling off period?
- I am currently not pursuing any post-graduate research or a degree during my stay in the UK and the work is purely clinical.

My other question is, if my wife and kids comes to visit me during the period I will be on a tier 5 visa, are they able to come on the Visa Waiver program as we all have New Zealand passports? My understanding is that they can be in the country for up to 6 months without a visa.

Thanks for all your help. I appreciate it.

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Switch from a Tier 2 to a Tier 5 (Government Sponsored) Visa

Post by CR001 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:03 am

Doesn't seem possible to switch from Tier 2 to tier 5 within the UK.