ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Girlfriends father holds a UK passport

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

JDRows
Newly Registered

Girlfriends father holds a UK passport

Post by JDRows » Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:46 am

Good Morning All,

This is my first time posting on here as I have been tasked with sorting this out.

So my Girlfriend is currently here on a student visa and has been for over 3 years from the United States, she informs me that as her father holds a UK passport and she has resided in the UK for 3 years she is now entitled to a British Passport. Could anyone please advise as to what process needs to be undertaken in order for her to receive a Passport?

Thank you in advance.

Casa

Re: Girlfriends father holds a UK passport

Post by Casa » Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:52 am

How did her father obtain his British citizenship and where was she born?
(Casa, not CR001)
Please don't send me PMs asking for immigration advice on posts that are on the open forum. If I haven't responded there, it's because I don't have the answer. I'm a moderator, not a legal professional.

JDRows
Newly Registered

Post by JDRows » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:41 am

Casa wrote:How did her father obtain his British citizenship and where was she born?
I beleive he received it by descent and she was born in Florida, U.S.

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Post by CR001 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:43 am

Did her father at any time before or after her birth live in the UK for at least 3 years and would she have the documents to prove it?
Char (CR001 not Casa)