ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA4 query - treaty rights

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

mjan1
Newly Registered

EEA4 query - treaty rights

Post by mjan1 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:29 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm EEA married to non-EEA national. We applied to EEA2 for my wife in January 2006 and it has expired January 2011. We want to apply for EEA4 but I have questions about treaty rights:

I've been a resident in the UK since 1994 but never applied for a resident card until 2006. I worked and paid taxes and NI contributions all the time I've been here. But in 2009 I suffered an accident at work and was laid off soon after. I claimed JSA for 8 months and, as my health was getting worse, ESA for the rest of the time afterwards. My wife as been taking care of our daughter born in 2008. I didn't have a choice but to claim benefits as I needed to keep food on the table. I am now better and want to go back to work asap.
Now, since I never got my PR status confirmed, will the fact that I've been on benefits go agaist my wife's application for PR via EEA4 form? Or have I still been exercising my treaty rights?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

PS - Seperate question but still OT, anyone know if I can add my nearly 3yo daughter (EEA national born in UK) to my EEA3?

Jambo
Respected Guru

Post by Jambo » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:40 pm