ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Switch from Student dependent to Skilled Worker dependent.

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

rajuksh
Newly Registered
India

Switch from Student dependent to Skilled Worker dependent.

Post by rajuksh » Thu Dec 15, 2022 5:39 pm

I am currently a full time PhD student on a Tier 4 VISA. I have my wife and children living with me in the UK as PBS dependents. We all have our VISA’s valid till end of 2024.

Now I have got a job (CoS) and planning to switch to Skilled worker VISA. My application shall be processed by my employer and I will need to take care of my family VISAs.

I have below queries:
1. Do my wife and children (aged 16 & 12) have to switch to Skilled worker dependent VISAs along with me?
2. If they continue to stay on their current student dependent VISA (for 2 years), and switch only before its expiry (for 3 years), do their stay still be counted for the 5-year ILR requirement?
3. If they have to switch along with me, can I claim the IHS amount paid for the present VISAs?

Appreciate any help with getting these queries clarified.

sah10406
Diamond Member

Re: Switch from Student dependent to Skilled Worker dependent.

Post by sah10406 » Fri Dec 16, 2022 4:39 pm

rajuksh wrote:
Thu Dec 15, 2022 5:39 pm
1. Do my wife and children (aged 16 & 12) have to switch to Skilled worker dependent VISAs along with me?
No.
rajuksh wrote:
2. If they continue to stay on their current student dependent VISA (for 2 years), and switch only before its expiry (for 3 years), do their stay still be counted for the 5-year ILR requirement?